Inherited Rigs

We have a good many rod builders here and also those with much to offer about reels, so if you need help with Rods-Reels- or Wrapping do it here
rlynge
Fisher

Inherited Rigs

Post by rlynge »

Good morning everyone,

I know I haven't posted recently but I have been lurking and learning. Alot has happened since I first came on this board. My wife and I bought a new home so I have been really busy with that venture.

I also had an uncle pass away a few weeks ago and bless his heart, he left me some of his most prized possessions. Since I am new to fishing I know absolutely nothing about them so I would thought I would tell you a little about them and get some thoughts from you.

My guess is that these are freshwater rigs since my uncle was notorious for bass fishing.

He left me two rod and reel combos. Both are Falcon LowRider XG rods (LFC-5-166 LR Herm Special) 6'6'' Medium heavy and both have Shimano Curado 200 bait cast reels (Im not sure what year)

Could anyone tell me a little about these? Am I able to use these for Saltwater? I know that he loved fishing and dumped all of his money into it so I want to make sure that I know what I have and how I can make use of it.

baseball4life702
KING MACKEREL

Re: Inherited Rigs

Post by baseball4life702 »

Mainly for bass and freshwater but hey it's still a rod and reel so if you are desperate or have an attachment to them and want to use them they will still work in salt but it's mainly for throwing lures not really dropping to the bottom or freelining.

rlynge
Fisher

Post by rlynge »

baseball4life702 wrote:Mainly for bass and freshwater but hey it's still a rod and reel so if you are desperate or have an attachment to them and want to use them they will still work in salt but it's mainly for throwing lures not really dropping to the bottom or freelining.