another rookie from Davie

This is the area where you may introduce yourself and let others know a little about you.
yrabien48
Fisher

another rookie from Davie

Post by yrabien48 »

Hello everyone, my name is Jose I am from Davie FL, I am new to fishing, eager to learn, I have been searching and reading about the topic, but I am still a little confused, I know I have a very long way to go, and a little time for it, but, I am still interested, I love everything outdoor activities, fishing , hunting, camping and so on, so I am going to need to be guided, I have 3 fishing rods a friend of mine gave me, one of them has a reel the rest no, unfortunately my friend did not know a thing about it either, I would like to do some salt water so I guess I would be using a public place, so, to keep it simple were do I start ? how do I get my rods ready to go, what kind of baits, what kind of fish will I catch in the area, best time to go, well, to many questions, may somebody help me, please .thank you I will appreciate your time.

Jabie1313
Seasoned Fisher

Re: another rookie from Davie

Post by Jabie1313 »

Hi Jose and welcome! Being in Davie you are pretty close to Dania pier. Head out there with your one rod with a reel and just start. Talk to guys on the pier about what they do and catch and just get your lines in. Fishing is pretty slow right now but who knows what you will get. You'll definitely get nothing if you don't go! You will figure it out! Good luck!
-JB
Please check out my blog at: http://helpmefish.wordpress.com/

cvstrat
FORUM CHEF "RETIRED"

Re: another rookie from Davie

Post by cvstrat »

I'd recommend Dania or Deerfield pier. The best way to get started is to bottom fish. I'd recommend buying a combo from Bass Pro to get you started. Penn Battle rod/reel combos are excellent and reasonably priced. They will sell easily too if you decide fishing isn't your thing.