JIGGING from Party Boats - A SMALL INTRO

This Forum is all about Boat Jigging
cudaman
BLACK FIN TUNA

JIGGING from Party Boats - A SMALL INTRO

Post by cudaman »

I hope this helps somebody. Let's read and write some :study:

The information below is just from my experience. I am not a pro or wanna be pro. I simply like this style of fishing. In regards to my opinions others may think differently or may add to it. There are many styles of fishing and some fit a person or boat and some don’t. The information below is considering that I fish in South Florida and not in areas where big Bluefin or Yellowfin tunas are found. We also fish in relatively calm waters depending on what areas we are fishing. The information below is fit for the type of fish we catch here in South Florida. BE AWARE! The writer and future writers are not responsible for any injuries, bankruptcies, or divorces that may occur while being addicted to this type of fishing.

Jigging in the party boats

When doing so make sure you are away from the other anglers since many charter boats still don’t like people using braid. But as the years have passed many party boats have regulars that only do jigging and no other style of fishing, there are some that do mix it up. Here in South Florida the Reward Fleet, the Kelley Fleet, and the Sealegs do have regulars that jig on their trips. Most jigging is done while daytime fishing and drifting.

Getting ready to jig on a South Florida Party boat
DSC02634-party boat.JPG
Rods

With jigging a specialized jigging rod is best. Parabolic action is desired by many others like a fast tapered rod in case the fish goes under the boat. It is a matter of choice, what you feel comfortable with is the best rod for you.

Rod size