Double or Single Rod Trolley

Ask your question Here, remember to include the important stuff like, What gear, area you are in, and so on.
anas473
Seasoned Fisher

Double or Single Rod Trolley

Post by anas473 »

Is the double rod trolley worth the effort? At the cost of two rods would it just be better to use a single rod trolley and the other rod for another application? And how do you shimmy down the bait further on a windy day, usually I just see the bait hang by the spot it first touches water.

permitchaser
BLACK FIN TUNA

Re: Double or Single Rod Trolley

Post by permitchaser »

im kind of new at this too,i fish on boats all my life and the keys,but im going to start fishing up north too boatless that is,imo the two rods its better bcause you don't have to crank the whole thing to check or change your bait ,and if is too windy you can put a small weight between the coastlock and extra swivel ,make sure the pier you going its allowed to do it ,hope this help.Btw im going to start with da single rod system .

permitchaser
BLACK FIN TUNA

Post by permitchaser »

if is not to many ppl you can freeline your bait .Another option one rod needed .

kblue
SHARKER

Post by kblue »

Two rod trolley is better... two reasons, you can feel the bite better and you have a lil better control over the wind. You can even feel bait going crazy before the bite...
But it needs more space...

I have a single trolley set up with some revision I made from some knowledge of other world...
This one fixes the issue of wind and you can have your bait at various water depth...
Last edited by kblue on Wed Nov 26, 2014 12:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

tears143
KING MACKEREL

Post by tears143 »

Single rod trolley?

Only see people using one rod to snag and another to drop down the bait. Never heard of a single rod trolley.

kblue
SHARKER

Post by kblue »

tears143 wrote:Single rod trolley?