Need some help beach fishing

Help on different Boatless Fishing locations.
kevingp
Seasoned Fisher

Need some help beach fishing

Post by kevingp »

So, I'd like to try my hand at some beach fishing. I've never done it before and I have a few questions.

1. I was hoping to fish south of the Boynton Beach Inlet. Is this possible? What should I look out for (i.e. rocks, snags, unsavory people, monsters, Frankenstein, etc.)?

2. My plan was to use a sabiki tipped with squid to catch pinfish or whatever other white bait I could get and use that with a fishfinder rig. Is this an ok method of catching bait? What should I do, if it's not? How much weight should I use?

3. Besides a head lamp, cooler, rods and tackle, is there anything special you guys recommend I bring with me?

Any other tips are appreciated.

Thanks!

Boruchlen
" Forum Mensch "

Re: Need some help beach fishing

Post by Boruchlen »

I can't answer about the bait, but don't forget a chair and even more importantly a sand pike. An +- 2" PVC tube that you can pound into the sand and then stick the butt-end of your rod into, to keep your rod out of the sand. http://www.basspro.com/webapp/wcs/store ... rchResults
It is a far better thing to have caught and lost, than to have never caught at all.
Courage is not a lack of fear, but the ability to act while facing fear

kevingp
Seasoned Fisher

Post by kevingp »

Boruchlen wrote:I can't answer about the bait, but don't forget a chair and even more importantly a sand pike. An +- 2" PVC tube that you can pound into the sand and then stick the butt-end of your rod into, to keep your rod out of the sand. http://www.basspro.com/webapp/wcs/store ... rchResults
Damn, I forgot about that. Since I'm going tonight, I hope Wal Mart has those spikes.

Boruchlen
" Forum Mensch "

Post by Boruchlen »